Let Me Introduce Myself – I Love “Lucy”

2 Jan

Image result for i love lucy

I can’t remember the first time I watched an episode of I Love Lucy. By the time I was born, the show had been airing for 36 years already. It was always around and it was always important to me.

I grew up on TVLAND and Nick at Night. Those were my jams! Everything from Bewitched, The Dick Van Dyke ShowGilligan’s Island, Happy Days, I Dream of Jeannie… But I Love Lucy  was by far my favorite of the line up! I remember whenever I was on school break, I would pull out our copy of the TV Guide and search through the pages for what times & channels would run episodes of ILL.

Image result for i love lucy

To say I’ve seen every episode is not only obvious but an understatement. I was given a Lucy Barbie for my 6th grade graduation present and I was thrilled. It was Lucy from the Job Switching episode and even came with tiny little chocolates you could hide in her hat. (I haven’t a CLUE where that doll ended up!)

I wrangled my best gal pals Lindsey and Joy into loving ILL as much, or nearly as much, as I do and we would sit in front of the TV and laugh and laugh. The Ethels to my Lucy- although I think they would say it’s the other way around.

Image result for i love lucy cast

I never outgrew my love or adoration for this show and I know I am not alone. It did more than just make us laugh for the past 66 years. ILL, Lucy, Desi, Jess Oppenheimer, Bob Carroll Jr, Madelyn Pugh Davis changed television.  It became an icon. It’s been lauded as the “most popular TV show of all time.” Can it ever be dethroned?

I’m not here to break new ground; I just really love this show and want an excuse to watch funny TV. So let’s get into it!

Leave a Reply

